What Movies Might Say About the USAWP

Richard Hunkler, PhD.
Water Polo Planet
03/15/08

What the CEO Might Say to the Staff in a Movie?Wall Street

Frankly, my dear, I don’t give a damn – GONE WITH THE WIND, 1939

There is no crying in water polo – A LEAGUE OF THEIR OWN, 1992 *

Greed for lack of a better word, is good – WALL STREET, 1987

Fasten your seat belts. It’s going to be a bumpy night – ALL ABOUT EVE, 1950

What we’ve got here is failure to communicate – COOL HAND LUKE, 1967

Made it, Maw! Top of the world! – WHITE HEAT, 1949

We rob banks – BONNIE AND CLYDE, 1967

You’ve got to ask yourself one question: Do I feel lucky? Well, do ya, punk – DIRTY HARRY, 1971

Atlanta, we have a problem – APOLLO 13, 1995 *

I’ll get you, my pretty, and your little dog, too – THE WIZARD OF OZ, 1939

I’m king of the world – TITANIC, 1997

Love means never having to say you‘re sorry – LOVE STORY, 1970

 

What the CEO Might Say to Board of Directors in a Movie?Star Wars

Toto, I’ve got a feeling we’re not in Kansas anymore – THE WIZARD OF OZ, 1983

You talking to me – TAXI DRIVER, 1976

Mama always said life was like a box of chocolates. You never know what you’re gonna get – FORREST GUMP, 1994

May the Force be with you – STAR WARS, 1977

The stuff that dreams are made of – THE MALTESE FALCON, 1941

Round the usual suspects – CASABLANCA, 1942

Well nobody’s perfect – SOME LIKE IT HOT, 1959

Gentlemen, you can’t fight in here! This is the war room – DR. STRANGELOVE, 1964

Mother of mercy, is this the end of Chris – LITTLE CAESAR, 1930 *

Chris: surely you can’t be serious. Mike: I am serious…..and don’t call me Shirley – AIRPLANE! , 1980*

Who’s on first – THE NAUGHTY NINETIES, 1945

You don’t understand! I coulda had class. I coulda been a contender. I could’ve been somebody, instead of a bum, which is what I am – ON THE WATER FRONT, 1954

 

What the Board of Directors Might Say to the CEO in a Movie?Terminator

I am going to make him an offer he can’t refuse – THE GODFATHER, 1972

Go ahead, make my day – SUDDEN IMPACT, 1983

I’ll be back – THE TERMINATOR,, 1984

I love the smell of money in the morning – APOCALYPSE NOW, 1979*

Show me the money – JERRY MAGUIRE, 1996

You can’t handle the truth – A FEW GOOD MEN, 1992

You’re going to need a bigger boat – JAWS, 1975

It’s alive, it’s alive – FRANKENSTEIN, 1931

Well, here’s another nice mess you’ve gotten me into – SONS OF THE DESERT, 1933

Hasta la vista, baby – TERMINATOR 2: JUDGMENT DAY, 1991

We’re here – POLTERGEIST, 1982 *

Keep your friends close, but your enemies closer – THE GODFATHER II, 1974

* means the dialog was altered slightly

If you don’t like what the CEO and Board of Directors are doing or if you like what the CEO and Board of Directors are doing drop them an email and tell them what you think. Let them know who really is in charge of the USAWP – money is!  Since the theme of this article is movies you may like to see Liza Minnelli and Joel Grey’s rendition of the song Money Makes the World Go Round. Never let the CEO and Board of directors forget who it is they should be trying to please. If the CEO or Board of Directors try to place torpedoes of reprisals in your way then remember what Admiral David Glasgow Farragut said and did "Damn the torpedoes, full speedahead!"

USA Water Polo Board of DirectorsCabaret

Mike Graff: Chairman mgraff@usawaterpolo.org

Bill Smith: Secretary bsmith@usawaterpolo.org

Ed Reynolds: ereynolds@uaswaterpolo.org

RoAnn Costin: rcostin@usawaterpolo.org

Victoria Roger: vroger@usawaterpolo.org

John Hendrickson: jhendrickson@usawaterpolo.org

Sandy Nitta: snitta@usawaterpolo.org

Bob Sternfels:bsternfels@usawaterpolo.org

Ellen Estes Lee:elee@usawaterpolo.org

Jeremy Laster:jlaster@usawaterpolo.org