Wh do water polo players have higher % of BF?

Mike Reid will answer your questions about physical training, weight training and general training for water polo.
Gergely Kiss
How are you connected to water polo?: I am 15 and I play water polo in Slovakia.

Wh do water polo players have higher % of BF?

Postby Gergely Kiss » Thu Sep 15, 2011 3:38 am

Hey Mike this has been on my mind for a very long time, I´ve recently looked on pictures of most elite water polo players and it has gotten to my attention that most of them had less muscle mass and more BF than elite hockey, rugby, football athletes, sprinter and throwers. Is there any particular reason for that? Less drugs in water polo than other sports?

Also I´ve noticed a lot of athletes bring powerlifting style training to their programmes, e.g. WSB method with ME work and DE work. I´ve never seen a water polo player do any similar work.

MichaelReid
How are you connected to water polo?: Player, Coach & Official.

I am a professional Strength & Conditioning Coach from Canada living for the past 6 years in Europe but I'm now back coaching Water Polo in Canada.
I operate 2 websites on training, health and nutrition.

www.michaelreid.ca

www.waterpolotraining.net

I am presently writing a monthly article for WaterPoloPlanet on strength & conditioning for Water Polo.

Re: Wh do water polo players have higher % of BF?

Postby MichaelReid » Thu Sep 15, 2011 4:23 am

Hello "Gergely Kiss"

Yes, I to have noticed what appears to be slightly higher body fat on some very high level International males Water Polo players. I will have to review my research library to see if anything like this is documented and compared to other sports. If it is the case, I do not know why.

A powerlifting program is not really necessary for Water Polo. That being said doing some kind of deadlifts and squats is a good thing but reaching powerliftng standards is not required for Water Polo.