Search found 56 matches

by tomj
Sun Dec 01, 2019 7:56 pm
Forum: The Quicker Kicker Outer
Topic: Question on rules
Replies: 6
Views: 2741

Re: Question on rules

Yes, failure to wave for re-entry is a correctable error. The correction is to put the clocks back to where they were 20 sec after the exclusion, put the excluded player in the exclusion area, give the offense the ball on top, and restart the game, with the excluded play eligible for re-entry immedi...
by tomj
Sun Dec 01, 2019 7:46 pm
Forum: The Quicker Kicker Outer
Topic: You Make The Call #32
Replies: 21
Views: 7692

Re: You Make The Call #32

I agree that the defender initiated contact--contact he was entitled to make, as the offensive player had the ball. But just before the shot, I see the defender's body move away from the offensive player towards the goal. It's not violent, and his head does not snap, but the only way that happens i...
by tomj
Mon Nov 25, 2019 12:37 am
Forum: The Quicker Kicker Outer
Topic: Someone Please Explain
Replies: 17
Views: 5889

Re: Someone Please Explain

https://youtu.be/nwAT6BAfWQU - High Chance of goal ( Probable goal situation ) no penalty? https://youtu.be/8J0XQ-SF-W8 - Ball under or exclusion? https://youtu.be/pv9pC3cYYP4 - Tie game during golden goal(sudden death). Trying to figure our why there was no call? #1 - From this viewpoint penalty, ...
by tomj
Mon Nov 25, 2019 12:08 am
Forum: The Quicker Kicker Outer
Topic: You Make The Call #32
Replies: 21
Views: 7692

Re: You Make The Call #32

... As you may have seen from Bob Corb's open letter, NCAA has instructed referees to 'call the rules as written'. ... HS referees are now being told to whistle in this same manner . ... The emphasis is mine. This is not really accurate. SCAF has directed CIF-SS and CIF-LA officials to call rule 7-...
by tomj
Wed Oct 16, 2019 10:49 pm
Forum: The Quicker Kicker Outer
Topic: You Make the Call #30
Replies: 10
Views: 3709

Re: You Make the Call #30

I have looked at it a few more times, and tried to put myself onto the deck. The more I see it, the more I think it likely I would have called a foul on white and awarded the ball to blue.

OT - please do more of these posts! I enjoy thinking about them.
by tomj
Wed Oct 16, 2019 10:04 am
Forum: The Quicker Kicker Outer
Topic: You Make the Call #30
Replies: 10
Views: 3709

Re: You Make the Call #30

Interesting post. This actual application of the rules seems straight-forward -- the Blue player jumps in front of white to take the ball, grabs it on top, and is sunk by the white player. So ball under on Blue, award the ball to White. In fact, technically the shot clock should be reset, since Blue...
by tomj
Sun Nov 11, 2018 2:18 pm
Forum: High School BOYS
Topic: 2018 Boys CIF Regional Championships
Replies: 88
Views: 31239

Re: 2018 Boys CIF Regional Championships

I was curious, so I listed the participants and their "provenance." Should be interesting! Regional D1 - http://cifstate.org/sports/waterpolo/WP_brkts_2018/sbd1 1- Harvard-Westlake - SS D1 Champ 2- Newport Harbor - SS D1 Runner Up 3- Winner of Loyola/Oaks Christian - SS D1 3rd 4- Cathedral...
by tomj
Tue Nov 06, 2018 3:08 am
Forum: High School BOYS
Topic: 2018 CIFSS Division 1/2 Thread
Replies: 716
Views: 187860

Re: 2018 CIFSS Division 1/2 Thread

The REV Facebook posts are "interesting" to say the least. They keep referring to one of the officials as the official "representing the Bay League". Referees don't come from leagues they come from SCAF and have zero affiliation with any team or league. This is 100% correct. I f...
by tomj
Mon Nov 05, 2018 3:07 pm
Forum: High School BOYS
Topic: 2018 CIFSS Division 1/2 Thread
Replies: 716
Views: 187860

Re: 2018 CIFSS Division 1/2 Thread

REV scored what looked like the first goal of the game on a 6/5. I remember thinking to myself that the Costa player was out for far too long and did not get waived in from the desk. The refs conferred and took away the goal. They gave REV the ball back at the time the Costa player was supposed to ...
by tomj
Thu Jun 14, 2018 10:34 am
Forum: The Quicker Kicker Outer
Topic: 12u 'no zone' rule question
Replies: 11
Views: 7441

Re: 12u 'no zone' rule question

Does anyone know how the "no-drop" rule applies when trying to switch the 2-meter defender? The only way I can see a switch being 100% within the rules is if both players move at the same time so that there is never a point where two defenders are covering one offensive player. This proba...
by tomj
Thu Aug 03, 2017 12:11 am
Forum: The Quicker Kicker Outer
Topic: Spectator discipline
Replies: 28
Views: 13000

Re: Spectator discipline

Generally speaking, here is what the referees are told, at least in high school and age group levels. If there is a spectator interfering with the ability of the officials to conduct the game smoothly, the officials have the authority to have that spectator removed. The procedure is NOT to order the...
by tomj
Sat Oct 29, 2016 11:53 pm
Forum: The Quicker Kicker Outer
Topic: I have never seen this...ideas?
Replies: 19
Views: 7125

Re: I have never seen this...ideas?

This is pretty clear and has nothing to do with any obscure interpretations of WP7.3. The attacking team had advantage and the player who entered early didn't take it away. The goal is kept. If the player entered early because (s)he was mistakenly waved in early by the desk, there is nothing more t...
by tomj
Sat Jul 23, 2016 11:56 pm
Forum: The Quicker Kicker Outer
Topic: You Make The Call #28
Replies: 63
Views: 17725

Re: You Make The Call #28

Oldtimer ... I assume that it was you telling the ref to pay attention. Out of curiosity, why would you think that a whistle is necessary at that point? There was certainly a hold/pull, but it was irrelevant - the attacker was still a body length ahead and lost no significant advantage. Not calling ...
by tomj
Wed Jun 29, 2016 2:09 am
Forum: The Quicker Kicker Outer
Topic: Table mistake destroys advantage (counter goal)
Replies: 17
Views: 8318

Re: Table mistake destroys advantage (counter goal)

Mistakes happen. The table staff are people, just like the rest of us involved in the sport. They are typically kids, typically not very well trained, and typically not particularly happy to be doing the task. Errors are going to happen. Once this kind of error happens, there is no perfectly "f...
by tomj
Thu Jun 09, 2016 5:05 pm
Forum: The Quicker Kicker Outer
Topic: You Make The Call! #26
Replies: 16
Views: 5861

Re: You Make The Call! #26

IMHO, if you aren't going to call impeding, then you have to let the kick off go as well, since it is a direct reaction to the initial violation. Within reason, yes. Holding me is not going to hurt me, but my kicking in response can hurt you. If the reaction kick off is not excessive, then call the...

Go to advanced search