Ball under penalty foul on field player

Referee Issues moderated by WPP's Righteous Referee

Moderator: Righteous Referee

mrsun23
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2020 10:22 pm
How are you connected to water polo?: Ref, master player

Ball under penalty foul on field player

Postby mrsun23 » Fri Sep 25, 2020 2:36 pm

I am curious to hear opinions on the following rule from NCAA and NFHS rule books:

Rule 8 Penalty Fouls - Section 2e
Section 2. Within 6-Meter Area to Prevent Goal
For a defending player to commit any foul within the 6-meter area but for which a goal probably would have resulted.
e. For a goalkeeper or other defending player to take the ball under the water when tackled


To take the ball under water means you must be in possession. The team in possession of the ball is on offense. Is there a situation that exists where a defender is taking the ball water? That is the literal reading.

To look at a “spirit of the rules” view, I interpret this to mean that a team in their own side of the pool can’t take the ball under water inside the 6M area (even if forced) because if they didn’t, it’s probably that the team pressing could have scored.

Does anyone have better insight on this? Much appreciated.

User avatar
Water-Polo-Fan
Posts: 712
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 3:50 am

Re: Ball under penalty foul on field player

Postby Water-Polo-Fan » Tue Sep 29, 2020 12:37 am

Your “spirit of the rules” Interpretation is correct. Most of the times it happens extremely quickly on a block or rebound and yes, technically he/she is an offensive player if deemed to be in possession when applying the rule. But everything they are doing is defensive in nature and exclusively to prevent the offense from scoring. Absent that “defensive” act a probable goal would have scored; hence the punishment. IMHO :D

Rational
Posts: 149
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2017 2:14 pm
How are you connected to water polo?: Fan

Re: Ball under penalty foul on field player

Postby Rational » Tue Sep 29, 2020 11:38 am

It may help to think about it as "what was taken away" for what the penalty should be.
ex: an exclusion is the reward for a lost advantage, an ordinary foul restores a passing opportunity.

If you think the team on defense took the ball under to prevent a likely goal, then a penalty shot restores what was lost.

Return to “The Quicker Kicker Outer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests